Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tips On Welding Duplex
Welding Forum > UKWelder > Practical Welding Questions
DUNNY
Hi. I am looking for some advice and tips about welding Duplex.
Is it like welding stainless steel ?

Some advice would be appreciated
Screaming Juice
QUOTE (DUNNY @ Mar 28 2006, 08:13 PM)

Yes.
DEEP PEN
hi
when your rooting double dip your wire
apart from that its the same as ss

The Fish
I would say double dip, wash across and walk the dog.
kaynakci
QUOTE (DUNNY @ Mar 28 2006, 07:13 PM)

No.

Unlike welding ordinary stainless - I assume you mean austenitic stainless - it is essential that your interpass temperature does not exceed 200C. Failure to do so will result in the job or test-piece failing any relevant corrosion test.

kaynakci.
rodofgod

Hi All!

DUNNY!

I'm no Duplex expert but I have done a few procedures in my time! It is like S/S regarding purge etc. Feels a bit different welding than 316 or whatever, however the main difference in passing a test or performing adequate welds is the 'heat input'!

From a welding point of view, Duplex is a little different than normal S/S but the main point is keeping heat input down! That means below the temp on your procedure!

Regards

nigel 42
i think somewhere in the past this subject has been covered
perhaps it was with mig
and rofgod is right
nanjing2
Duplex is stainless steel but it cannot be welded without a great deal of care. When welding the golden rule is simply travel as fast as possible to keep the heat input down. Always follow the WPS. Thin section 25% Cr Super Duplex interpass temperature may be as low as 75C.
wavey dave
Go Weir Metals website there is lots of info on it about welding duplex.
Captain
Agree with other posts.
You've got to watch your interpass temperatures!
Duplex is typically 150 degrees C, whilst Super Duplex (Zeron) is typically
100 degrees C.
Always refer to your procedure, it will tell you what the interpass temperature is.
Captain
DUNNY

Thanks all.