Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Popping in Oxy Acetylene welding
Welding Forum > UKWelder > Practical Welding Questions
Popeye
Hi

I'm new to welding and am having a problem with gas welding: when using B.O. number 3 jet with 2 lb per sq inch pressure on both gases, I get a loud popping noise which often blows the molten metal clean away. What causes this?
rodofgod

Hi Popeye!

It's along time since I done any O/A welding, however this type of problem can be caused by wrong gas pressures, you could try upping them a bit!

Are you using a 'correct' flame? For welding steel, it should be an 'oxidising' flame.

Is the nozzle the correct size for the thickness of material being welded?

Is the metal clean?

As you can see, there are a lot of varibles involved!

Regards
shade
2psi is too low. For normal welding you want them both on about 4psi and then keep the 'point' of the flame a short distance away from the workpiece.

Fire the Acytelene up first and turn it up until the black smoke stops, then bring in the Oxygen until you get the right flame!
Flash!
. . . . . > Flame settings & Welding guide < . . . .
Popeye
Thanks for your replies guys.
Captain
QUOTE (rodofgod @ Nov 27 2005, 08:40 PM)
Are you using a 'correct' flame? For welding steel, it should be an 'oxidising' flame.

Hi Rodofgod,
don't like to contradict you, but isn't an "oxidising flame" (very blue) not for brazing?
For steel a "carburising flame" (blue with a touch of red) should be used.
Regards,
Captain
Harweld
Hi,

sorry Captain and Rodofgod but you both are wrong. The correct flame setting for welding steel is neutral.
A carburising flame will add carbon to the weld and increase the hardness and brittleness.
An oxidising flame will cause oxidation of the iron making the weld weak and brittle.