Welcome to UKWelder Welding Caps Welding Helmets Pioner Overalls Welding Gloves
UKWelder Shop
Welding Hoods Welding Leathers Welding Helmet Spares Welding Boots

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Join the Forum )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Weld procedure questions
fastrhino
post Jun 24 2008, 01:52 AM

We are working to AS 1554 part 4 which is the Australian welding standard for Q&T steels.

I am new to the position of welding supervisor in this company and also new to this standard.

Having reviewed the procedures I feel we need to requalify our procedure and some case start again with new procedures for the current work we are doing.

1 what positions is a welder qualified for if the test has been done in vert up 25mm thick, my collegue believes our welders are qualified for everything in all positions, I think all but over head and vert down with a range of 17 mm to 37.5mm

more questions to come unsure.gif

mick
Keel
post Jun 24 2008, 12:09 PM

Hello Mick

I've got my 1554 part 1 here (hopefully the same). Are you talking plate or pipe, fillet or butt?

In essential variables it allows a range of .75 to 1.5 the thickness of the test plate. So 25mm= 18.75mm/37.5mm.

Where you working now?

Keel
Keel
post Jun 24 2008, 12:28 PM

Hey Mick

What happened to that drink we were supposed to have last year?

If your interested There is a course just started at Subi tafe for welding supervisors. It covers AS1554.

Keel
Ballbearing
post Jun 24 2008, 09:37 PM

Mick,
I pity you having to work with 1554, I have worked with it for years and it is a nightmare.
A friend of mine was on the committee who wrote the codes and he has admitted they are full of errors.
Vertical Up qualifies you for vertical up and flat only. Vertical up and overhead qualifies you for all positions.However, if you qualify to AS2980 (which is accepted by AS/NZS 1554) you only need to do the overhead for all positional qualification.